Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime.

Governments, police and legislators have long sought ways to decrease crime. There has been a heated debate on whether criminals ought to be sentenced at a longer period or be tackled by other alternative methods. Both viewpoints will be elaborated in this essay and explain why I feel treatment and education programs are vital to curb crime. It is commonly believed that incarceration, particularly extended periods, is a powerful way to deter criminality. The rationale is that potential offenders would consider the consequence more thoroughly before committing crimes if the punishments are severer. Although this argument is true to some degree, the effects are not significant in the long term. Extending the incarceration period but without solving the fundamental issues, such as addition or poverty, may result in higher re-offending rates. Many offenders return to jail after being released as they do not have the skills to survive in society, and therefore, have no options but to commit crimes. In contrast, if more treatments and education or vocation training are provided in prisons, the re-offending rates can be reduced dramatically. For instance, a rehabilitation program should be introduced in prison to support those drug addicts or alcoholics to quit those habits and rebuild confidence and establish coping strategies. In addition, education programs and employment training which can enhance prisoners employability are also vital in assisting those people to build up life skills for returning to communities. Without them, released prisoners are bound to end up in jail again. In my view, even though imprisonment is still necessary in order to protect society from dangerous people. I believe that only by supporting prisoners overcome their defects and acquiring sufficient knowledge can a person become a law-abiding citizen after probation. In conclusion, despite the fact that longer jail terms may seem to be a deterrent to crime, introducing rehabilitation and training to support those offenders to regain life skills are more effective in reducing criminal activities.