Should class attendance be made voluntary in universities?

Nowadays, compulsory class presence remains a controversy in the academic environment, namely in universities. It is widely argued that class attendance must be required in colleges because it ensures students a full gain of knowledge and decreases the possibility of dropping out of universities. We strongly disagree with this point of view, as we believe that class presence does not reflect the learning outcomes and concentration of students, while the optional attendance allows students to use their time beneficially. First and foremost, the fully attended evaluation cannot assess the exact learning performance of students. This is because many frequent tests and examinations which are assigned by the lecturers and professors could produce the precise result in students’ knowledge and learning level. Researchers have found that frequent test can boost learning, which tends to be more meaningful. For example, for individuals who attain full attendance points, it could not conclude that they enrol in all study sessions because many lecturers check students' attendance at several meetings, it is impossible to say that, because going to the full class, they will acquire better knowledge. Similarly, if a student performed a low attendance score, the conclusion relevant to the individual’s laziness should be dismissed for the reason that they can completely self-study. Secondly, attending classes voluntarily help students to be more active in choosing their learning methods and then they can utilise their time beneficially. A lecture is designed to teach all students in a class who have different backgrounds, knowledge, cognitive abilities and “one size does not fit all”. It is definitely true that this teaching method can be appropriate for some students while others may find it difficult to follow. Therefore, it requires other students to find the alternatives that both meets the need of knowledge acquisition and bring the interest and enthusiasm to students. Nowadays, we have a lot of learning methods outside university such as self-studying, watching online lectures, finding tutors and signing up for extra classes. Additionally, for students who do not get drawn into studying, they can organize their time to pursue their own interests as well as make their own personal decisions that give chance to develop their life skills. For instance, attending workshops, internships and extracurricular activities are excellent options. Flexibility in attending university facilitates all students because it allows students to make full use of their time to engage in other activities and get inspired by choosing their own way of learning. In contrast, others may argue that obligatory class appearance is necessary due to the avoidance of low attendance rate and the possibility of dropping out of colleges. However, mandatory class attendance is probably beneficial to the university than the students. Colleges can ensure the number of students attending school as well as completing the task of transferring knowledge while not all students have the same need and condition for school. Take examples of some students cannot attend class regularly because of family and health issues, then the compulsory school attendance will put pressure and become a burden for them. Consequently, obligatory class attendance can hinder students from balancing their studies and personal life. To conclude, we suppose that class participation should appear to be optional for undergraduates due to the highly accurate evaluation of examinations in students' knowledge instead of class presence, the elimination of the lack of concentration and keenness of a group of students in academic background, and the more opportunities for undergraduates to participate in other activities outside universities. In our opinion, university students are legal adults, thus, they could make a choice whether or not to attend a class and be responsible for their decision.