Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. with this opinion?

Important scientific research should be managed and controlled by government instead of private companies, according to many people. I believe that private companies should be given freedom for research but with proper monitoring under government. First of all, it is true that scientific research should not be conducted only by government because scientific research is wide and diverse so only government can not find all the things which the private companies can do and they do research more efficiently due to sustain their company. For example, Thomas Alva Edison was an individual inventor who has contributed to whole world by the finding of light bulb. Secondly, barring private companies from research would slow down innovation and ultimately progress of our country and this may affect all people of nation. On the other hand, if research only in hands of private organizations then it could be harmful or detrimental for the country like research of atomic or nuclear bomb should be conducted with more protection and need proper and sufficient management. Moreover, some private companies are profit oriented and they think only of their monetary gain. They must be controlled, as some of them might do it for destructive weapons which could threaten the whole world peace so, this is the responsibility of government to stop this type of research and monitor them. In conclusion, I would say that, private companies should allow for research as it would help in progress of country. However, the research must be reviewed and monitored by government in order to prevent any misappropriation.