The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Significant inventions in automobile industries have rapidly transformed the means of transport. Although a luxury in 1890s and early 1990's, cars have now become a basic necessity. The rapid growth in vehicle ownership has led to unforeseen challenges that must be addressed to ensure sustenibility. Due to availiability of public modes of transport and worldwide effects of increasing car ownerships, I agree with the fact that alternative modes of transport should be encouranged and international laws should be implemented. Today, it is difficult to travel to a desitnation if one does not have a vehicle of their own. Destinations such a grocery stores, recreation parks, a workplace, or a relative's residence are part of one's regular travels and owning a vehicle a profound necessity. For such reasons, a personal vehicle is recommended. However, destinations such as tourist spots, airports, or government facilities, etc. , have access to public transport such as buses and trains. For example, during my recent travel to New York City, I came across traffic near Times Square and saw that many people were travelling in their personal vehicles. An abulence was also stuck in this traffic and it took about twenty minutes to make way for it. If people had utilized more public transport, precious time would not have lost for the patient who might be in life threatening situation. Traffic is not the only reason that international laws should be introduced to regulate vehicle ownership. It is indicated in numerous studies that pollution from cars is increasing the carbon footprint and one of the causes of global warming. There are some efforts to undertaken by global leaders to reduce the impact, but stricter laws and deadlines should be in place. For example, the Paris Climate act or the Kyoto Protocol was established to phase out vehicles that emit harmful gases and limit the number of vehicles a person may own. Also, recommendations are in place to introduce alternative types of engines such as electric vehilces that do not rely on fossil fuels. In conclusion, engineering efforts and global leader's correlation has developed a better world where one can enjoy their own vehicle and keep the world safe at the same time. Such efforts should be contined and supported for overall benefit.