The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

Number of cars on British roads are increasing day by day. It is believed that there will be approximately 29 million vehicles on these roads by the year 2000, which is a serious concern. Therefore, many people consider that the public should be encouraged to use the other transport mediums instead of using their own cars, and usages of personal vehicles ought to be controlled by introducing some global laws. I completely agree with this statement as increased usage of private vehicles is causing some serious problems to the society. To begin with, increased usage of cars leads to different types of pollutions, such as noise and air pollution. Most fossils fuel cars emit carbon gases, which pollute the air quality and as a result health of citizens gets impacted. In other words, increased amount of carbon-dioxide gas in the air reduce the oxygen inhaling capacity of people, which result in damaged lungs. As emission of such gases is directly proportional to the number of running vehicles, therefore, it is always significant to control this by motivating people to use public transport for betterment of their health. Daily use of private vehicles should be restricted as it causes traffic jam in metro cities. As everyone prefers to take their own car to commute to the office or to travel to college, it leads to more and more number of vehicles on roads. Therefore, it causes a major traffic jam situation during morning hours especially in busy areas. For instance, in a survey done by leading newspaper of India, it was found that almost 50% of the traffic jam is caused by private car owners especially professionals who do not follow traffic rules due to hurry. In conclusion, public transport will help people to move to different places without causing traffic jam and it will also be beneficial for our environment. Usage of private cars, therefore, should be discouraged for the betterment of society.