Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

In the sophisticated era, crimes are increasing more and more. In order to create safe and sustainable ambiance, people who committee low level of crimes should be made to do unpaid work in spite putting them behind that bar. I am personally inclined to partially agree with this statement and shed light on the reasons behind it in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, offenders who committee low level of crimes such as, breaking laws, they should be assigned for community works in the society such as cleaning streets, planting trees and charity work. Because of it, they may be engaged themselves in unpaid activities for the betterment of the society. As a result, this trend may help to mitigate environmental issues. So, charitable works should be done by the lawbreakers in order to improve the ambiance of the society and give them a chance of learning. Hence, criminals with low level of illegal activities must be assigned to community services. However, people who committed serious Crimes such as murder, rape, smuggling and so on should put them behind the bars, in order to set an example for others. Due to it, the crime rate may decrease. They may have fears of punishment in their mind and they may think many times before committing any crime. In addition, it is the best way which may help them to realize their crime. Thus, in order to set an example, offenders should be sent into the jails. To recapitulate, although by sending criminals into the jails is the most effective way and it has many merits, but the cons of assigning people for charity work should not be overestimated.