The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

Cars have been an essential part of our day-to-day life. Since its first appearance in England in 1888, there have been produced as many as 29 million cars by the year 2000, which led to many people think that with this rate, we will have to find an alternative way of transportation and introduce new international laws to keep the car ownership in a stable level. I believe there are some ways we can tackle this problem. One way is that public transportation should be free for all social groups. I think the government should make all the transportation (trains, busses, etc) Free of charge, so that people use these ways to travel instead of cars. Consequently, this will result in a sharp increase in tourism since they could travel to any part of the country they're visiting whenever they want for free. For instance, Japan's tourism has skyrocketed over the years, as a result of free metro stations, and it is experiencing the biggest decline in car usage of any nation, more than the next 4 countries combined. Another way of dealing with excessive cars is raising the gas prices so much that the citizens will have no choice but to use alternative ways. Moreover, it could make the nation an economic power if the government decides to sell the unused petrol to neighbouring countries. Singapore is the primary example of this where prices for gas and vehicles are so high that Singaporeans are forced to use buses, trains, metros, etc. In addition, they sell the petrol to other nations, becoming one of the most developed countries in the world. In conclusion, I believe that car usage is a world problem that should not be overlooked, and we should start taking action against it by learning from those who managed to solve this issue before it's too late.