The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

With the introduction of commercial automobiles into our daily lives; more and more cars have been produced, sold and used. Nowadays, high traffic is a serious problem caused by this development, which not only reduces our quality of life, but also causes serious harm to the environment. In my opinion, some limitation of car use can be achieved to tackle those problems by introducing new laws and offering alternative transport methods. There are much to be accomplished by enforcing new laws. One of hem could be limiting the number of car owners to one car per family, which can reduce the total ownership of cars significantly. That will result in fewer cars on the road, therefore reduces the traffic and limits the harm caused by cars to the environment. Data suggest that, although, such law could be harmful to car industry, in the long term, it will reduce the carbon footprint caused by fossil fuels. Another way to encourage people to not to use their cars is to show them a better alternative. The most obvious one on everyone's mind is of course the public transport. By making the public transport reliable, affordable and comfortable; people will less likely to buy and use their cars. Inevitably, this will prevent the traffic, contributed by private cars. A successful example of this particular solution was witnessed in Lexumburg, as its government made public transport free for all their citizens. In conclusion, to prevent traffic and environmental harm caused by cars, we should discourage the car ownership and use, by introducing new laws and promoting public transport.