The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

In our society, car has been our number one transportation and in the year 2000 there are 29 million vehicles present on Britain's motorways. This made a lot of people believe that it is time to have a different form of transportation and a new law for car ownership and usage. I strongly believe with this opinion because this will help our environment and will help economic growth as well. The main reason why I believe that changing how we travel and lowering the number of vehicles on our roads will help the environment is because if we limit the use of vehicles specially privately owned cars this will lessen the carbon footprint coming from car emissions. This will promote cleaner air and will help our planet to recuperate. To illustrate, countries like Sweden and Germany that promotes bicycling as a means of transportation have healthier and cleaner air. Another reason why I support this opinion is due to the fact that this will help the economy. If there is an alternative way of transportation and laws that will help control car ownership, the government will have to provide a better public transport for its people. Having fewer vehicles on the road also means less congestion and this leads to a more efficient way of transporting goods to different parts of the country, hence, producing economic growth. For example, Japan and Singapore have great public transports and for that reason they have fewer traffic problems and their country is very rich. In conclusion, I completely agree with the opinion that we should be changing the way we travel and how we use cars because it will not only help reduce the air pollution, it will also be beneficial for better economy.