The Familiarity PrinciplePeople tend to develop a preference for things they have previously encountered, things they are familiar with. Social psychologists refer to this tendency as the familiarity principle. Given a choice between two similar items, on

It is irrefutable that celebrities and their lives are compelling. Therefore, many normal people often try to impersonate them. This essay will discuss the reasons behind it, and finally end with my opinion that whether it is a good idea or not. Ordinary folks get bored from their monotonous life, and hence they find famous people's lives and lifestyles intimidating. Consequently, they try to look or follow the same trend. For instance, Deepika Padukone, an eminent Bollywood actress has opened an online store of her used clothes and accessories and it is doing extremely well as everyone wants to look like her. As a result, people are ready to spend a hefty amount of money on such products. Secondly, following a famous person and looking like they also make common person look stylish and affluent. Owing to this, their social status gets a boost. In my opinion, this is not a good trend as people lose their own personality while pretending to be someone else. It can only bring temporary happiness. On the contrary, by following one's heart can give permanent happiness and can also boost a person's confidence. A recent research concluded that an original idea or pioneers have 56% more chances of becoming successful than their followers. In conclusion, common people try to follow celebrities to follow latest trend and look superior in their social groups. But by doing this, they lose their originality, and hence I feel that it is not a great idea. Rather, people should create their own identity in the society as it will give them true happiness and make them confident.