task 4 Familiarity principle, also known as, mere exposure effect, is a psychological phenomenon where people have preferences for things because they are familiar with them. The familiarity principle effect exists in most areas of human decision-making.

The tourism industry has experienced a major boom in the later part of the 20th century and has been a boon in disguise, which has helped some weaker nations to uplift their failing economies. While questions have been raised regarding the negative impacts that accompany the advance in the trip region, these definitely do not outweigh the associated benefits. The economic boost that accompanies a successful tourist industry is quite well recognised and Thailand is the best example. The entire Thai economy revolves around tourism and the country had been able to uplift its economic status through its flourishing hospitality part. Egypt is another nation that is heavily dependent on its hospitality zone. The increase in the number of incoming tourists leads to innumerable prospects in terms of local entrepreneurship & employment generation. This is also associated with international investments and infrastructure development. The national authorities, in order to ensure safety of the international visitors provide better law and order enforcement, improved transportation and healthcare facilities, which in turn benefit the local population. On the other hand, the rising influx of holidaymakers is associated with increased incidences of crimes, prostitution and antisocial activities like drugs, human trafficking and gambling, which affect the values of the indigenous society. The local population is also affected also affected by the growth in property value indices. Environmentalists are also concerned regarding environmental remodelling, that is associated with increased tourist activities in natural reserves. In this context, it is worth mentioning that, by enforcing stern law and order and implementing strict legislations, governments can control most of these negative impacts of tourism. Henceforth, it can be confidently conveyed that, even though the growth in the excursion industry is accompanying negative social impacts, these do not outweigh the contributions made by this sector towards social development.