The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken legally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of learning one language in the world?

English has become eminent globally due to advancement in the field of tourism. Advantages of having one language will end language barrier. However, other languages will extinct, ultimately, variety of cultures will end. Language is considered as a significant way of understanding others emotions and requirements. One spoken language all over the world will improve communication among nations, interaction of similar language overcomes the gap and leads to better understanding among peoples belonging to different ethnic backgrounds. To illustrate, my cousin, enjoyed his education in England, because of full command on English. This helped him, mingling and making friends in a new and strange environment. In addition, similar language strengthens the economy and flourishes tourism. For instance, a survey conducted by the department of tourism, Pakistan, revealed, nearly eighty percent of tourists were satisfied, as local vendors knew English. Subsequently a significant amount of revenue was generated by satisfaction of visitors. Therefore, implementation of one language, will produce positive impact by overcoming issues, such as, language barrier. Although, implementation of one language has positive outcomes in terms of economy, drawbacks of them cannot be denied. As it leads to extinction of various languages. Hence, diversity of cultures will be lost. the specific language of a country depicts its unique cultural heritage and history. As an illustration, Chinese is famous for its proverbs and idioms, many historical events of China are narrated in poetic form in their language. Which adds a uniqueness to their culture. Hence, implementing a single language has a negative impact on diverse cultures. To conclude, a single spoken language all over the world is advantageous in terms of improvising communication. However, it brings drawbacks, in the form of loss of diversity.