2. The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world.

Tourism industry has recently observed a boom. Owing to this, English has become highly popular around the world and according to one school of thoughts, it will become the sole language to be spoken worldwide. Although a single global language will facilitate communication and knowledge sharing, it will be catastrophic for small languages. On the one hand, a common language for everyone can be collectively beneficial for the human race. This will enable people to interact and communicate freely without a language barrier. This will lead to a better mutual understanding of cultures and common values. In addition to this, written knowledge will become accessible to everyone as books and manuscripts from other languages will be translated to one. This will lead to the unification of the knowledge which is, currently, linguistically scattered. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of a single, globally spoken language. For one, it will drive the smaller languages to extinction. The Saraiki language, for example, which is spoken by only around 2500 people, will lose its significance and its native speakers may cease to use it. Further more, native scholars will lose their jobs due to prominance of another, global language because it is financially not plausible to practice a language that is rarely spoken. Therefore, other languages will cease to exist if one, prominent language is spoken globally. In conclusion, a single language can facilitate mutual communication and knowledge sharing but, will lead other languages into oblivion. It is hoped that people appreciate advantages as well as disadvantages of linguistic priorities before deciding on the future of languages.