The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think that will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally.

It is thought by some people that English, which now most widely spoken language in the world, may one day predominate over all other languages and result in their eventual disappearance. Having one language certainly aid communicating and economic growth but there will also be some drawbacks. To commence with, having sole language spoken all over the world will make communication convenient. Furthermore, business such as importing and exporting between nations can be efficient. It is more accessible for people to communicate by one language rather than being bilingual which will surely help in globalization. Moreover, one language would be advantageous is that it would help economic growth. With all people speaking the same language, there will be less barriers and therefor trade would flourish between countries. On other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to having only one global language. Firstly, it would mean that all other languages would eventually disappear, along with them, their cultures. The diversity of cultures is one of the joys this world has to offer. Secondly, it would result in the collapse of tourism because there would be no reason to travel for pleasure and interest if all countries had the same language and similar cultures. This would devastate many countries economically that rely on tourism as a source of income. For example, Culinary tourism, is now considered a vital component of the tourism experience. Dining out is common among tourists and "food is believed to rank alongside climate, accommodation, and scenery" in importance to tourists. Italy as a culture famous is a great example for food tourism. In conclusion, a single universal language is definitely beneficial for every country and improves the relationship among them, but it is certainly detrimental for the local language and damages the local culture in future.