The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. So people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

The rapid development of the tourism industry has led to English becoming the most spoken language in the world. People are concerned that English will turn into the only language that is spoken all over the world. In this essay the merits and demerits of having a one common language will be discussed. One of the advantages to speak the same language with the whole world is the full understanding of each other. As English is a widespread language, it is the best choice to be the common language for lots of nations. For example, if a Russian-speaking and a Chinese-speaking persons meet, they may not achieve mutual understanding unless they both know English. Another merit of English becoming the most popular language is the absence of the cross-cultural gap, as the content consumption of people who know English well enough is about the same. They all watch the same films, listen to the same music and read the same books. As a result, when two people who grew in different countries they can easily find subjects to be discussed. However, the extremely wide dissemination of English language leads to the degradation of national identity. In an effort to use English as much as possible, and thereby to become global citizens, people forget or distort their native language. For example, the majority of Russian teenagers uses a lot of English slang while texting, Internet posting and etc. , however, most of the loan words can be easily replaced by authentic Russian words. To draw a conclusion, English becoming the international level language leads to such positive outcomes as better communication and same cultural background. Nevertheless, the native languages must also be preserved. To avoid the language disappearance, It is recommended that English learners should show equal respect to their mother tongue.