the development of tourism contributed to english becoming the most prominent language in the world. some people think this will lead to english becoming the only language to be spoken globally. what are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Nowadays, it is thought by some people that English, which is now the most spoken language in the world, may one day predominate over all the other languages, eventually resulting their disappearance. However, this result has some advantages like elevation in the understanding among countries and increase in their economic growth. On the other hand, it also has some disadvantages like disappearing of all the other languages and collapse of tourism. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world. Firstly, one evident advantage to having one global language is that it would enable greater understanding among countries. In other words, if everyone speaks one language, people can easily share their thoughts and information in common language resulting in good bonding. Secondly, it will also increase economic growth as there will not be any language barrier and therefore, the trade would flourish across countries, resulting in a healtheir world economy. For example, USA and Canada both countries share everything such as data, border, goods, supplies etc. Because, there people speak a common language that is English and they are the most powerful and developed countries in the world. To sum up, having one global language can create bond between countries and help in increase the world economy. Besides the advantages, having one language worldwide has its disadvantages also. Firstly, all the other languages apart from English would vanish along with their cultures. The diversity of cultures is one of the joys this world has to offer. Secondly, vanishing of cultures will directly impact tourism since there will be no reason of travel for pleasure and interest of new culture. Hence, it will directly decrease the economy of that particular country. For instance, recently a survey on the internet showed that people or travelers love to visit the country which has new and different cultures and different languages because they are keen to learn new languages. Therefore, disadvantages of one global language outweigh its advantages. In conclusion, people are thinking that English will become the only language which would be spoken by everyone in the future. While there are some plus points for having one universal language, there are repercussions as well. Therefore, maintaining local languages should be prioritised for the betterment of the societies and their cultures, which will directly lead to a better world.