The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

The English language has become ubiquitous nowadays and continues its expansion through the world. This tendency has brings about a widespread supposition that in the future only English will be utilizing as a mean of international communication. This essay will examine positive and negative sides of global prevalence of one language. It is unquestionable that having standart language that all people are able to comprehend, yields numerous benefits from practical point of view. Firstly, everyone will be capable to have a conversation with a foreigner without any language barrier. Secondly, a copious amount of money that spends as remunerations for professional translators, will be saved. The third advantage is that thinking in one language unites people and their mutual understanding will be increased significantly. Therefore, an international language is conducive to economical development and generally facilitates communication process. Despite obvious favourable consequences, detrimental effects of monolinguistic domination should not be disregarded. It has been proven that language is not merely a tool of conveying ideas and imparting knowledge, but also reflects a cultural peculiarities of its native speakers. In the light of it, if language diversity ceases to exist, it ineluctably will engenders erosion of cultural differences and even threaten to nacional identity. That is why, eliminating other languages would have a deleterios impact on the society. In conclusion, having one language can be both positive and negative. On the one hand, it simplifies communication between people from different countries. On the other hand, it may destroys variety of customs and traditions.