The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to have one language in the world?

Over the years, English has become one of the prominent languages in the world. The advancement of tourism lead to the popularity of English language all over the world. Some people assert this will contribute English becoming the only global language. This certainly has advantages to communicate with the people. There are some disadvantages too. To commence with, having sole language spoken all over the world will make communication convenient. Furthermore, trade and business between two nations can be efficient. People can communicate from one corner of the world to another corner which will surely help in globalization. Moreover, tourists can be benefitted and comforted to explore the beautiful scenarios. Consequently, the world will be a single home to 7 billion people. Speaking merely one language makes the person comfortable to cope with the different people in several countries. On the contrary, countries will lose their uniqueness and language diversity. There may be a dispute between the powerful countries. For instance, due to the development of trade many countries will be powerful and there would be an economic war and blockade. Moreover, the native English speaking countries may start dictating and compel other countries to surrender which leads to banishment of many nations. This will impact the culture, tradition, norms and values of a state. Eventually, several countries can lose their territories. In conclusion, one global language may be a fortune, but there are some negative impacts and threats to the non native English speaking country. That's why it might be beneficial to speak one's native language.