The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one lang

Nowadays, detailed descriptions of crimes could be seen on the media frequently. It is a highly debatable issue whether media should broadcast smallest details of a crime to the masses or not. Personally, I think that media should be very judicious in selecting what to report and how much to report. Firstly, the details of crimes make a misleading statement to the children and adolescents who are curious about the process of committing crimes, and are likely to copy the criminal actions blindly. Thus, the rate of juvenile delinquency may sharply increase due to the influence of misbehavior. Furthermore, the detailed description does not show enough respects to the victims and their family. For example, if any murder or robbery has taken place in someone’s house, then if it is shown in detail on TV, the whole privacy of those people is lost. Finally, some details of crimes are too cruel and make people feel terrified about their surroundings, some might even develop a distrust towards governments, which would impair social security and stability. On the other hand, the opponents claim that as many details as possible should be published point out the demand for such information of the public and the freedom of information. Many members of the public believe that the more information they have, the better they can protect themselves from criminals. Those who believe in the maximum possible freedom of information think that it is the people’s right to be told as much as possible. However, the press should play a key role as the justicial direction of public opinion, and should not overreport just because of a well-looking audience rating. In conclusion, I think that the media have an obligation to show a right direction for the public. It should report news objective and balance, rather than highlight the details of the crime.