The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one lang

With the tremendous growth in the travel industry, some people thought that English, which is widely spoken language, would become more prominent over other languages and result in their eventual disappearance. Having one language trend would definitely promote understanding and economic growth at one hand, however, would also have some drawbacks. This essay is an attempt to highlight both the aspect of this trend. The most evident, the advantage of monolingual society would that it facilitate better understanding. In simpler words, if everyone speaks one language, there would be complete understanding between not only the countries but all the people around the world. This would further promote learning, sharing ideas and the flow of information among people. Another reason that one language would be beneficial is that it would facilitate the economic growth. This means there would fewer barriers and therefore flourish trade between nations, resulting in the healthier world economy. On the contrary, there are some drawbacks to following one language culture. One language signifies the disappearance of other languages and eventually the loss of diverse culture, as different languages stem from varied cultures. The diverse culture is one of the joys this world has to offer, and the reason for the growth in tourism. As people travel from one place to another to learn new things, and if everything would be same then, people would not find pleasure in travelling. This would result in the decline of the finances generated by the tourism industry. Therefore, a big threat to the developing nations, who rely on foreign visitors for their earnings. After analysing both the merits and demerits of universal language, it could be concluded that though it improves understanding between nations, however, its negatives overweighs the positives, therefore maintain local language should be prioritised to ensure a rich world heritage for future generations.