The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

It is thought by some people that English predominate over other languages, which could result in eventual disappearance of existed languages and cultures. Although one spoken language would aid more understanding between people throughout the world and help in economic growth, however there are some drawbacks. One evident benefit to having English, as a common language all over the world, is that it would increase more understanding, promote flow of information and ideas. In other words, if there were only one language to communicate, learning subjects and searching information would be easier for students at school, for instance. Another reason, which would be advantageous, is that the trading barriers would disappear and economic situation in all countries would flourish. Nowadays, many countries face crisis in their economy therefore it would be great opportunity for global economic growth. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages. Firstly, communication in various languages also means diversity of cultures which would be lost if all people spoke one language. Each culture is unique that is what makes our world beautiful. Secondly, world tourism would collapse, people would lose interest for journeys. There would be no reason to travel and meet similar cultures. If people stopped travelling it would be devastating situation in tourism field. In conclusion, while there are plus points to having a language which everyone could speak and understand, it also could cause that other languages along with cultures would vanish. Maintaining the languages and cultures is the most essential, because it is our heritage for the future generation.