Some people think that a person improves their intellectual skills more when doing group activities. Use specific details and examples to explain your view.

When two or more people work together to do a set goal or target, they have to collaborate and negotiate on smaller steps taken by them as a group. Many people believe that working collaboratively in groups help them in building interpersonal and cognitive skills. In my opinion, collaborative tasks covers each others' deficiencies. Although group tasks are beneficial for enhancing abilities of group members, it also help in social loafing which doesn't improve the skills of every group member. To begin with, individuality of a person is affected by working in group activities and hence the intellectual skills are not fully developed. For instance, people have become less confident enough to take risks and they don't take initiatives themselves. Furthermore, the confidence of people when they have to perform separately is also hindered by the group. On the contrary, abilities like negotiation and communication skills are enhanced by doing projects and assignments together. For example, a group of university students, working on a final year project, discuss and show disagreements on the inclusion of features they want to add in their project. Indeed, by agreeing and disagreeing to various points, they also develop cognitive skills. Like by sharing ideas and by explaining their perspectives to each other, they can further improve thinking abilities. Therefore, I certainly disagree with the notion to some extent only. To conclude, inspite of the fact that there are so many skills people develop in group activities, I still believe it decreases the confidence of individual personalities in a group.