The development of tourism contributed English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. what are the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world?

The English language has become the most used languages in the world because of the development on tourism sector. Some individuals say that this would make English language the only way to communicate worldwide. This essay will first suggest the easier communication between the citizens of different nations is the primary benefit, while the possibility of having certain languages disappear is a major drawback of having single global language. Making single language a global tool to communicate makes the communication convenient between people from different linguistic backgrounds. This is to say that people do not have to worry about the language barrier when they travel different parts of the world because everyone speaks the same words. Additionally, they can easily adapt the circumstances as there will be very less chance to get confused about others' perception. For example, countries like New Zealand, Canada, Australia and the UK have made the knowledge of English language mandatory for those who wants to immigrate there, because they believe that immigrants would not face any difficulties while communicating if they know the common-tongue. Despite the benefit of easy communication, single-global-language system could lead many languages from different communities to disappear from the world. This means, since only one language would be in operation, people would be reluctant to learn other languages because their limited applications. As a result, many languages that are in operation from the ancient times would extinct from the planet. For example, a recent study conducted by the BBC News revealed that every month 10 less-spoken languages are being extinct from our planet because many nations are widely practiced commonly used languages as their communication tool. In conclusion, the convenience in communication with the use of one common language is the primary merit of single-global-language system, but the extinction of other languages from different communities around the world is its major demerit.