The chief benefit of the study of history is to break down the illusion that people in one period of time are significantly different from people who lived at any other time in history. - GRE Issue 113

In most nations, people are becoming addicted to throwaway culture, which is buying goods, using them for a short period and then disposing of them. This essay will discuss the causes of the issue, such as being lured into enticing advertisements and urge for buying new products. This essay will also give problems which are created by this approach. Firstly, people are inclined to buy new things mainly because of the irresistible advertisements. In other words, manufacturers promote their new products rigorously and capitalize on the needs and this compels people into purchasing. Secondly, we live in a materialistic society where owning the latest goods reflects social status.  As a result, there is constant pressure on a person to throw away his old product and buy a new one. Take the iPhone, For instance, which are exchanged for old phones, by thousands of people, as they have to exhibit superiority over others. There are two main consequences of this issue. One of them is that it poses a serious threat to the environment. Excessive production of goods leads to the depletion of natural resources. Also, when products are thrown away, they produce more garbage, which is often non-renewable. For instance, many trees are cut down to produce various household items. Another issue is that it leads to stress in the life of people. In simple terms, In order to show superiority over others, a lot of expenditure is borne by an individual, which majorly disturbs his budget and drags him towards health and social issues. To conclude, the throwaway culture is harming nature and creating social issues. Considering these impacts, this attitude of people should be discouraged.