The birth rate in most developed countries is predicted to begin to fall over the next 50 years. By 2030 it is estimated that over one third of the population in most developed countries will be aged 65 and over. What effects will these predictions have on developed countries if they prove true? What can be done now to deal with this situation? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While there is no doubt that the younger generations are the economic backbone of any country, it is predicted that most developed countries are going to experience a drop in birth rates over the coming 50 years with people aged 65 and more contributing to one-third of the population. In this essay, I am going to discuss the effects of this on the developed countries and suggest possible solutions to deal with it. Firstly, a decline in the births could result in a lower working community. This is because over time lower births could result in very few people in the age bracket of 20 to 50, which is the most employed age group by any employer. Moreover, this could lead to a decline in economic output. For example, most physically challenging works, such as construction work cannot be carried out by the people aged more than 60 as they require both physically and mentally strong workers. The solution for this can be to encourage young international citizens an opportunity to settle in the country. This result of this can be an increase in the working population and thus driving countries economic growth. Secondly, Lack of younger generation could result in fewer innovations. The reason for this being that in old age the brain might not function as well as it used to when a person was young. For instance, Many businesses employ younger age groups in their research and product development because of their innovative and imaginative powers, whereas seniors are restricted to mostly decision making roles. Furthermore, lack of innovations can result in a predictable and boring world. The answer to this problem can be to encourage more births by ensuring free education and health care incentives for the children. This can result in more births and over time can lead to an increase in younger population thus driving the nation's economic growth. To conclude, lower birth rates can result in a decline in the economy and fewer innovations. I believe that the government is responsible to increase the birth rate by considering the solutions mentioned.