The birth rate in most developed countries is predicted to begin to fall over the next 50 years. By 2030 it is estimated that over one third of the population in most developed countries will be aged 65 and over: What effects will these predictions have on developed countries if they prove true? What can be done now to deal with this situation? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A large proportion of the world's population is currently in the age group of 25-50 years; however, it translates to the fact that this huge proportion will join the dependent sector of the economy by the end of this decade. This can have a detrimental effect on the socio-economical aspect of a country, hence it is vital to find ways to deal with the situation before it becomes a reality. In this essay, let us get a glimpse on this seemingly subtle problem and look for ideas to combat what could soon be a massive threat to global-economy. Decreasing birth rates and increasing life expectancies will increase the average national age, thereby adding pressure on the government to provide more funds for the dependent population. In other words, the proportion of people in the work force will be significantly lower than the proportion of people who will be retired and thus requiring benefits for sustenance. To illustrate, when the gross national age increased in the UK, the NHS had to hire more people and more funds had to be alloted to the NHS. Such diversions of funds for maintenance rather than for developmental purposes can be a threat to the economy. Dealing with the problem, once it has occurred is almost implausible. Thus, it is important to act faster to achieve the desired results. Foremost, we need to keep track of the overall birth rates, identify lacunae and address the areas swiftly and efficiently. Moreover, sufficient funds must be channelled to further research in epidemiology. In order to prevent the gross national age from plummeting, the key is to prevent the decline of birth rates. To conclude, epidemiological studies have anticipated that more than 33% of the people in the developed world will be over the age of 65, at the end of this decade and that will leave a devastating effect on the economy. Hence, it is important to identify the key problem zones before time runs out.