In most countries, prison is an effective solution to the problem of crime. Some people think it is a more effective solution to provide education for those who violate the law.

Rate of law breaking acts are increasing day by day. Many people believe that education is a wise solution rather than imprisonment for criminal acts. This essay will argue why imprisonment is considered as a better method to mitigate delinquencies, but in certain situations educational approach would be useful. To begin with, imprisonment is considered as an appropriate action against delinquencies. This could aid in creating a sense of fear among the society. If citizens are under strict laws and legislations implemented by the government, social discipline could be maintained among the citizens. This is mainly due to the fear factor which is generated within themselves. As an illustration, after establishment of capital punishment, against murderer's and rapists the rate of rapes and murders have been drastically reduced. Furthermore, once a delinquent is prisoned they will get the opportunity to learn about the criminal act they committed and will turn out to be well-mannered and disciplined. In contrast, certain demographics of the society are in favor of educating law-breakers opposed to traditional prisoning. In certain instances, providing with educational facilities would be an optimistic approach. During petty crimes and minor vandalism incidents, the offenders could be encouraged to participate in vocational training and rehabilitation centers. Since it a well-known fact that the basic causes of crimes are poverty, illiteracy, and unemployment. Hence, by educating criminals who have involved in minor law breaking acts would be able to bring out positive changes, but if murder victims or rapists are given the approach for education without prison punishments, the justice of the society would be questionable. To recapitulate, this essay argued about the most imperative form of punishment which could be entrenched to reduce the levels of crimes. In my opinion, imprisonment is considered as an essential action which could be taken against raising levels of crimes, whereas in certain situations educational approach would also be applicable.