Even more people are spending most of their time at work nowadays, which leaves almost nothing for personal life. Do you think this trend has more advantages o disadvantages for people?

Time has always had a great value for people because it cannot be replaced by anything else. However, people often choose to invest it in their professional life rather than their personal one. This essay will discuss why this trend has more disadvantages than advantages for people. To begin with, nowadays people are spending more time at work than with their families or friends. This situation has some great disadvantages; firstly, people lose their connection with themselves and close people, secondly, they have no time to enjoy the professional achievements, and last but not least, they develop serious health problems, both psychological and physical. All these drawbacks are strongly interconnected; for instance, if a person spends ten hours on the job, he/she will not have enough time for family, domestic activities and personal hobbies or needs. This situation leads to stress, depression and illnesses like heart disease, diabetes and so on. All in all, too much work can have serious negative effects on people. Conversely, hard work also brings with it some advantages. Many hours of work mean more money which helps to increase the standard of life. Furthermore, a better quality of life brings another advantage: the progress of society. This is strongly connected with the fast evolution of technology, the most important cause of the fact that people are working more than in the past. For example, the mass production in a factory is mostly automatic; however, people are working more extra hours so as to increase their incomes. Even if it looks like a chain of prosperity, in fact, it is a vicious one, due to the sacrifices it requires from people. In conclusion, time is, probably, our most precious asset we can deal with. I consider that spending more time at work has more bad points than benefits in the long term. At the end of the day, we must find the balance between professional and private life.