The birth rate in most developed countries is predicted to begin to fall over the next 50 years. By 2030 it is estimated that over one third of the population in most developed countries will be aged 65 and over. What effects will these predictions have on developed countries if they prove true? What can be done now to deal with this situation?

Aging has become a major issue for many countries nowadays. It has been observed that the majority of people would have aged over 65 years by 2030 in the most developed nations. This essay will enlist the possible predictions along with suggesting measures to curb the issue. There is numerous possibility of this phenomenon. Firstly, there would be fewer work-forces in the future which could participate in the development of the nation. This may result in a slowdown of economical growth. For instance, if there were fewer young people in the job market, it would hamper the growth of companies as the unavailability of manpower may affect the flow of routine operations. Secondly, a significant increase in unproductive class may act as a burden on the government. This is because, since these people will no longer be able to work, there would be not only a substantial reduction in the tax collection but also a noticeable increase in the compensation of retirement benefits. As a result, the young age working class would witness the excessive burden of tax. Fortunately, there are some possible solutions to encounter the said situations. To begin with, officials can increase the prefixed limit of retirement age. This would alleviate the estimated shortage of manpower, balancing the demand of the required workforce. Additionally, the modified retirement age would extend the tax earning of people who were planning to retire early, which enables better financial liquidity. Furthermore, by encouraging people about self financial planning, the government can introduce cut down in the retirement benefit schemes. For example, personal savings and finances would surely help individuals in their later stage of life, or any emergency, and make them self independent even after their retirement. As a result, there would be less strain on national finances, allowing authorities to utilize funds in national development schemes. To conclude, a decline in human force and excessive burden on government finances can be considered as primary causes of these predictions. If means like extension in retirement age and self-funding are implemented appropriately, the issue can be dealt with.