The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel.

For the recent decades, air pollution has become a significant widespread environmental issue. It is argued that the best way to tackle this issue is to raise the price of petrol. While I agree, that provided solution could be helpful for environment, it is conspicuous that it will make lives of civilians more difficult and there some other solutions that could be more useful. It is lucid that by increasing the cost of gasoline and vehicles, air pollution will be reduced. Due to this, fewer cars and bikes will be riding on the streets and pollution will be especially diminished in urban areas with a huge number of inhabitants. For instance, to solve the environmental problems, Singapore authorities has added huge taxes on buying new vehicles. This has deterred locals from buying them. As a result, the government is able to control pollution. However, hiking the price of petrol and cars, will make it harder for many of the residents to move around city. A large segment of the population will no longer be able to enjoy comfortable ride by car. This type of solution, will probably create a disapproval among people. There are a myriad of other ways for authorities to deal with this problem without generating negative attitude. On the contrary, one of the solutions to tackle with environmental problems is to move away from fossil fuels, replacing them with alternative energies such as solar, wind and geothermal. Producing clean energy is crucial. But equally important is to reduce our consumption of energy by adopting responsible habits and using more efficient devices. For example, government could encourage civilians to switch to using electric vehicles. In conclusion, environmental issues can be controlled by raising the prices of vehicles and gasoline; however, other measures like switching to alternative sources of energy could be more beneficial in combating this issue.