In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Traffic is always a pressing problem of the countries in every age. Some governments was lodged a method to solve this problem, which is increasing money for tax on car drivers and use this to improve public transport. However, this solution has some advantages and disadvantages. The first advantages of this solution are an among of cars on the streets would decrease. Because money they have to pay very expensive, when they drive the owners car, they have to pay tolls, tax, petrol or diesel. . . So, traffic problem and pollution would be reduced. Next, when people do not drive owners car and public transportation more and more improve, they would go with it everywhere. Because, it is very cheap and environmentally friendly. And when public transport achieves convenient enough for people go, they would travel with it. But, this method exists some disadvantages. Such as, at first time, when public transport improves no more and tax heavy surpass ability, they have to try with it to go to work and they could be late or walk very far. And, the amount of money, which government earns by tax, toll. . . Would less than before because people do not buy a car, then the company do not produce to sell, so money earns less. In conclusion, to use method to solve the traffic problem is possible, but we need much time, and in that time, some disadvantages is always parallel with advantages.