The best way to solve the world's environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel.

The deterioration of environment attracts much government’s concern. It leads to the controversy about raising fuel cost. While some people argue that this practice can reduce consuming fuel and lessen air pollution, I think it is not the best way to tackle the problems as there are better ways and the price increases could lead to economic issues. To begin with, several measures could be applied to decelerate the rate of pollution. Firstly, rather than non-renewable resources, government should invest in alternatives such as wind and solar energy. These kinds of power have been proved as effective ways to mitigate carbon dioxide emission in Europe and America. Secondly, enhancing public transportation and reducing travelling cost could encourage people to use public vehicles more; consequently, vehicles’ fume could be reduced. Apart from the government, automobile corporations could contribute to the reduction of greenhouse gas emission by manufacturing electric products. For instance, electric cars of Tesla use electricity as the main power leads to the decrease in exhaust. On the other hand, increasing the price of fuel cause a burden on the economy. Fuel cost determines the market price as rising fuel costs could lead to another increase in the price of daily used groceries, food, and other households. As a result, middle and low-class families are unable to afford household expenditure. Therefore, the gap between the poor and the rich is widened which could result in economy economic instability and inflation. In conclusion, I strongly believe that raising the price of fuel is not the best measure to address environmental problems.