The availability of entertainment such as video games on handheld devices is harmful to individuals and to the society they live in.

Since entertainments such as video games have first been introduced to the public, people believe that this has a negative impact on individuals and society. In my opinion, I completely agree with this for two main reasons. First, it would cause people to reduce daily interaction with others and second, it increases the rate of juvenile crime. The availability of such entertainments as video games is damaging because of the effect of reduced human interaction. Individuals, who spend a relatively amount of time on computer games, could forgo constant stimulation and hustle and bustle of a speaking group, which can be gained by actively talking to friends or family members. For example, the youth nowadays prefer making friends and chatting on a virtual world rather than participating in face-to-face conversation. In the long-term, their lifestyles and behaviours could be adversely affected, leaving them isolated, alienated, and inactive. Apart from the reason expressed above, I believe that it also takes its toll on the increased criminal commitment towards the young generation. Most video games nowadays allow people to become their preferred characters while playing. For example, Pay Day is a video game, allowing players to perform a bank robbery with guns and violence to accomplish their goals. However, if players, especially those who are at an early age, exposure to this on a daily basis, they are likely to perform illegal activities such as bank robberies in real life. Thus, the increased rate of criminal commitment among young people can be widely witnessed. In conclusion, the issue with regard to the question of whether video game entertainment has a negative impact on individuals and society varies among people. I believe that the mentioned consequences including reduced human interaction and the increasing rate of crime are detrimental.