The availability of entertainment such as video games on handheld devices are harmful to individual and to the society they live in.

Today’s world has witnessed the dramatic period of growth of numerous types of entertainment on handheld appliances. While many people this phenomenon can bring about several negative impacts on individuals and the whole society, I tend toward the opinion that it can be advantageous to some extent. On the one hand, there are 2 main reasons why it is believed that entertainment available on handheld devices can have deleterious effects. The first one is that types of recreational facilities such as video games can make people, especially the children, get several seriously physical and neurological disorders. For instance, if an individual glues on the phone screen for a long time without going out for any social activities, he may suffer from obesity, short-sightedness or even depression, which are not only the reason of health deterioration but can prevent him from accessing to certain potential occupation in the future. The second reason worth being mentioned is that a large number of people can easily be negatively affected by illegal types of games that are distributed uncontrollably on the Internet. To be more specific, various counter-educational kinds of entertainment such as violent or sexual games may lead people to improper and unlawful behaviors. This can be considered the primary cause of the increase of adverse criminal cases such as robbery or sexual assault, which can damnify social safety and national security. On the other hand, I side with the opinion that the availability of recreational facilities can be the great contributors to the development of individuals and society. Firstly, up-to-date technological games can direct users to positive values. To elaborate, in the past, people used to play traditional games which require little brainstorming efforts. However, nowadays, technological devices such as smart phone have allowed games to be more complicated, requiring an advanced combination of knowledge, skills and creativity to generate an appropriate and effective playing strategies. Thus, modern games on handheld devices have transformed into a valuable tool that raise people's mind to be more creative and sophisticated. Secondly, the new entertainment industry based on technology games will have more opportunities to develop. As a result, it can contribute various undeniable value to the society such as taxes, which can help the government invest for updating public infrastructure and services to raise their citizen's living standard. In conclusion, although it is argued that types of entertainment on handheld devices can be disadvantageous, I strongly opine that they can be have positive impacts of each individual and the development of the whole society.