The advantages provided by English as a global language will continue to outweigh the disadvantages.

In the modern era, English is most widely spoken language of the world. Though its global status comes with many advantages, there are few disadvantages associated with it. In my opinion, the positive aspect of English being a global language offset the negative features. English has become the language of the majority of the world’s population. The most important benefit of its global stature is ease of doing business. Globalization has opened paths for cross country trades and with the growing use of English, negotiations and business dealings have become simpler. In addition to that, being a widely understood language, countries find it to their benefit when they communicate their problems in front of the international communities in English. The issues they face are understood by a broader audience, which help them in gaining immediate support and sympathy. Finally, with the influx of English in their culture, students find it easier to study abroad and take courses in foreign countries that are offered in this language, consequently, helps them in their professional career. Despite having certain advantages, English does bring few disadvantages with its international status. Firstly, people tend to forget the native language and focus solely on English which consequently make them lose their culture and traditions. Moreover, an intellectual void is created when young student who grow up learning English loses interest in poetry and novels that were written in their mother tongue. In conclusion, though maintaining English as an international language threatens the cultural heritage of a nation, it is important to note that it plays a vital role in the development of a country. Therefore, the disadvantages of English can be neglected.