In the past children were taught how to save money, but today they only learn how to spend it. Do you agree

Although saving money was taught to be a part of growing up in children in the past in comparison to those who more easily spend now. This essay agrees that children in the past were taught to be wise with their spending and were encouraged different ways to save when compared to those now. In recent years, children find it easier to spend on things they want to buy. This reason can be influenced by many factors such as television commercials and peer pressure. Parents need to teach their children different ways of saving from a younger age and make them understand the importance of it, so that this will help them in the future. For example, I remember growing up, collecting money in a piggy bank for a period of three months. I would start saving every penny I got rather than spending it on candy. I would look forward to the end of this period and get so excited to use the cash and buy something I really wanted. This habit made me realize the importance of saving. It also helped me become more patient as well as to understand the value of what I bought. Since I understood the importance of saving, it helped me save and budget when I had to be independent through college and university. Youngsters need to understand the difference between ‘wants and needs’ before spending, it teaches them to value things. Parents and adults should positively encourage and educate children to make right choices of spending on the important needs in life. While growing up, it is important to help them understand the values of saving for needs until they reach a certain level of maturity and independence. Children in poorer countries such as Africa for example can’t afford to even spend on basic average needs like water, food, books and clothes. Parents play an important role in to cultivate this habit because as children they will make poor choices due to the lack of understanding. To conclude, our children need to learn to spend wisely and make smart choices rather than blindly spending money on things that are not beneficial to them long term.