Television news contain more bad news nowadays. Some people say it is a negative development. Do you agree?

Television news is obviously one of the most sought-after ways to obtain information. It can be observed that most news bulletins contain undesirable news regarding natural disasters, accidents and criminal activities. Anyway, I completely agree with the statement that news should have variety. By watching TV news people hope to get information about every sphere of human activity and nature. That is why people subscribe to more than one channel of news. So that they get themselves enlightened about the current happenings. If a particular news item disseminates an optimistic view, it may have a positive impact on people. For instance, concerted efforts put by China to suppress the Corona pandemic may be an eye opener for the rest of the world. However, undesirable news, whatever the nature of it, should not be restricted indiscriminately. Because the right to know is considered to be a universal human right. Furthermore, detrimental effects to the society at large can be minimized when people get to know about any harmful development taking place either locally or internationally. Prevailing famine in a country is an example of such bad news for which precautionary measures can be taken if it is reported before it affects other regions. In conclusion, though most television news contains negative aspects of the world, such news too plays a significant role to keep the general public informed. Hence, it is of paramount importance to ensure freedom of media.