Television is dangerous because it destroys family life and any sense of community; instead of visiting people or talking with our family members we just watch television.

It is certainly true that we prefer to watch television rather than getting along with our family or meeting people. Though I agree that it is not a positive impact, I believe it does not completely ruin any one's family life or society. On the one hand, the idiot box is considered to be a dangerous tool which has a significant impact on both individuals and society. With regard to individuals, they get addicted to the programs telecasted and give low priority to the members of their family. Most Indian ladies who regularly watch mega serials have proven to have poor bonding with their family. At the same time, unknowingly it consumes more time than we expect. Consequently, we realise that we could have spent quality time with family or friends only at the later stage. Since everyone becomes a couch potato, there is less interaction with the neighbours and thus resulting in a community which is not really socially interactive. On the other hand, television is not the only cause for problems in family and community. It is a well-known fact that internet access and other electronic gadgets like mobile phones, computers and laptops contribute to a great extent. Therefore, there becomes less necessity for people to communicate directly with the advent of group chats, video calls, free messaging and instant reply. Moreover, hectic work schedule drives more people towards entertainment to unwind themselves and re-energize for the next day. This does not cause any disturbance in a family if its usage is kept under the limit and all other relationships are prioritised. In fact, many programs like 'family no 1 ' are being broadcast to insist the family values and mutual understanding. This is not all there are several events of social concern being exposed to public to create awareness. Thus television cannot be blamed entirely as it has its own benefits. To conclude, the entertainment motto of television is appealed more and it is common to devote time for relaxation. This is not all our working hours have changed these days and by that time  we would not have any one's company other than television. In my opinion, it would no way affect the relationship and socialisation if it is properly used in proper time.