Some people believe that the use of mobile phones in public is as annoying as smoking and should be banned, similarly.

It is often considered by many that the usages of mobile phones in public places should be restricted as smoking has been. I completely agree with the banning of mobile phones in public places, especially where people are working and might get annoyed and interrupted. Using mobile phones in public places causes several drawbacks, Firstly, it leads to various social problems. In other words, the use of mobile phones in public places causes serious offence. For example, recent researches showed that use of mobile phones while pedestrian crossing is the major cause of accidents in both developing and developed nations. Secondly, the lack of social interaction among individuals could be the consequence of mobile phones over usage in the public places. For instance, people travelling on the same bus become isolated and busy by surfing the internet on the mobile phones which lead to the lackings of communication among travellers. In addition, there would be a scarcity of enjoyment in sightseeing while travelling. Take an example, if a person travelling by train through the countryside, the use of mobile phone makes them forget enjoy the fascinating places outside the compartment. Finally, talking loudly through mobile phones in public places such as church, mosque result in irritation, distress and disturbance to other individuals as mobile phones could be intrusive. In conclusion mobile phone usage in public areas should be restricted to the welfare of the society and the citizens because the use of mobile phones in public is annoying as smoking.