'Telecommuting' refers to workers doing their jobs from home for part of each week and communicating with their office using computer technology. Telecommuting is growing in many countries and is expected to be common for most office workers in the coming decades. How do you think society will be affected by the growth of telecommuting?

Telecommuting has become a buzzword not only among IT professionals but also among the common folks. It brings about a sea of changes in the work culture of many business settings. Though some business firms are on the fence about this new concept, my two cents is that several positive innovations come about in the society by this new concept. Firstly, this advanced work culture brings down the traffic-related problems significantly. To be more precise, the traffic jams, noise and air pollutions can be reduced by less commuting of workers. The less vehicle travel we do, the more environment we save. By reducing vehicles on the road, we do not need to go the extra mile to bring down the traffic accident and respiratory ailment of human beings. Recent UN study highlights that in Atlanta, one of the biggest telecommuting work cultured city in the USA has low motor accident rate in peak hours by reduced vehicles on the road is the best epitome. Secondly, working parents in the society get ample time to bringing up their children. In other words, child rearing, usually considered as a tough nut to crack for the working parents, easing by work at home culture. Workers do not need to pull their socks up to manage their official work and child affairs at the same span of time. Hence, tension and anxiety reduce considerably and it beneficial for both employer by increased work performance and employees by reduced stress-related ailments. Latest issue of a family magazine survey reveals that the online telecommuting working classes families are 30% happier than other working class families is the best example. However, an army of people claims that this kind of work culture brings down the office socialisation. Perhaps it may true to some degree but, it cannot be denied that the family happiness is more important than this small social issue. To crown it all, telecommuting work culture is an idle solution for many social issues like traffic problem and child care. If society goes by this kind of innovative concept in other fields, we can break the deadlock of many other social problems.