To be labeled a ‘Work of Art’, a painting, sculpture or other art forms should display certain qualities that are unique. However, over the past century, there has been a decline in the quality of prize-winning artwork and it is now possible for quite ordinary pieces of art to be labeled ‘masterpieces’ whilst true works of art pass unnoticed.

The taste of people for artworks have changed to an extreme extent in this present age. As a direct result, many ordinary artworks are entitled as masterpieces while true pieces go unnoticed for the lack of evaluation amid thousands of cheap pieces. I completely agree with the statement for the following reasons. The number of art loving people has reduced significantly. With the passage of time, maintaining a decent life is difficult. So, people are busy in making a comfortable living. They hardly manage time to focus on artworks and are willing to hang the artworks on their wall or preserve them in their showcases instead of visiting them at galleries. Such activities have greatly reduced the value of real artworks. Besides, the real artists are losing their interest to create some extraordinary pieces for wider reasons. Firstly, they are not appreciated. Additionally, the prices of raw materials are on the rise. So, the artists lose interest to create some ‘true’ pieces due to lack of art lovers’ admiration to them. In fact, people are no longer interested in art anymore for recreation. For instance, my next door neighbour is a painter. When inquired, preferring anonymity, he told that all types of artworks started declining after the Second World War. Though there had been some changes after the 1990s, the real artworks were lost amid the cheap pieces after that decade, he said. He also believes, a large number of artist gave up job considering the matters. In fact, he was true. Furthermore, the art galleries reduced in competition with local market artworks. The artworks meant for gallery exhibitions are confined to local markets within a cheaper price for home décor. Subsequently, the aesthetic arts are experiencing rainy days in the supremacy of ordinary pieces. So, the ordinary pieces turned dominating. To conclude, determining the true art and awarding those unique works is a task that should be done very carefully in order to appreciate the work or genius from ordinary works.