'Telecommuting' refers to workers doing their jobs from home for part of each week and communicating with their office using computer technology. Telecommuting is growing in many countries and is expected to be common for most office workers in the coming decades. How do you think society will be affected by the growth of telecommuting?

It is true that telecommuting has revolutionised our life on many ways. In my opinion, I believe that telecommuting has both positive and negative effects on our society. On the one hand, telecommuting has many benefits on our planet generally and our social life specifically. Firstly, telecommuting could reduce pressure on earth resources. Telecommuting commuters tend to travel less to their workplaces. As a result, this could decrease pressure on urban infrastructures like roads and public transportation services and ultimately could save natural fossil resources and decrease pollution. Secondly, working from home could modify our family relationships. People spend more time with their families and this increase family tidiness and stability. For instance, some social workers link telecommuting with decrease divorce rates in many western countries. It is a very effective way to enhance the performance of the employees and thus producing increased output for a company. This reduces the costs and ensures better profitability. One of the main objectives of technological advancement is the faster and more tasks done per hour. Telecommuting ensures this very perfectly. On the other hand, telecommuting could have some negative impacts. One problem is that working from home could result in many health problems. Telecommuting forces people to move less and do more desk jobs. This sedentary lifestyle could lead to many health problems like obesity. Another drawback of telecommuting is that it may affect our social life negatively. Working from home without exposure to real work life could reduce people interaction skills and could ultimately lead to social isolation. In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential dangers of telecommuting on our health and social life are more significant than the possible benefits.