'Telecommuting' refers to workers doing their jobs from home for part of each week and communicating with their office using computer technology. Telecommuting is growing in many countries and is expected to be common for most office workers in the coming decades. How do you think society will be affected by the growth of telecommuting?

In the modern era, the use of computers and information technology has benefited companies a lot. The use of computer networks has made it possible for employees to work away from their offices and this is becoming extremely popular nowadays and will continue to grow in the years to come. In my opinion, employers can benefit immensely through the use of telecommuting which not only increases the productivity of employees, provides instant collaboration but also saves most companies running expenses. Firstly, teleworking helps employers to increase the productivity of employees by having a constant connection with them. For example, an employee working from his residence is available to work all the time, thus minimising the response time for any particular project or job-related updates. Furthermore, it is making collaboration much easier not only for workers but also for their managers. For example, in healthcare, this state-of-the-art piece of technology has made it possible for doctors to be thousands of miles away in their homes but still be able to provide consultancy to a patient or oversee a critical medical procedure. Secondly, a lot of companies are saving revenues just because there is no need for the employees to be present at their office premises all the times, especially companies with global presence that are starting out an operation in a new place, don’t specifically needs to rent out expensive offices and furniture, rather they can just hire employees and make them work from homes. In conclusion, I am confident that in the coming years telecommuting will one of the most practised norms for companies, as this type of technology not only offers a great deal of flexibility to businesses, but also provides efficiency and cost savings.