Task1---Your friend has suddenly received a lot of funding. What do you think is the best way for your friend to spend this money? Please include reasons and details to support your response.

Recently, the extent of the environmental problems we are facing has become so vast, that major policy changes are required on a global level. Several people believe that one of the most feasible solutions to these problems, is to increase fuel prices for vehicles. I personally disagree with this idea, and in this essay, I will elaborate on the possible hindrances that it could cause to the general population of a country. Effluents released by the combustion of fuel in automobiles is definitely one of the leading causes of air pollution. Often, the degree of damage done to the environment is so extensive, that it is either difficult or impossible to breathe with ease. This is especially true in large cities having a high population density, where innumerable vehicles hit the roads on a daily basis. However, increasing fuel prices would definitely not aid in solving the problem at hand in a way that benefits the public, especially in developing or underdeveloped countries. For example, in a developing country like India, the average per capita income is far below the poverty line. In this case, increasing petrol and diesel rates would make the commodity entirely inaccessible to the common man. Furthermore, this would lead to an increase in fares in public transport, thereby discouraging the public from using the service. An overall hike would be seen in the price of goods, due to the increase in their transportation costs, and low-income houses would face serious difficulties to make ends meet. Secondly, let us look at the adversities faced by countries where the constant rise of petrol prices is a pressing issue, by considering India as an example. The inflation of oil prices was a major cause of public outrage, as citizens claimed that the tax being placed on the product was excessive, while the government claimed it was essential. Hence, it is clear that though increasing gas prices seems like an airtight solution on paper, it would inevitably cause numerous difficulties in the lives of the public. Therefore, we must first consider educating people on the processes of car-pooling and the benefits it could have to both the environment, as well as their savings. Another possible answer could be the odd/even method, wherein citizens must alternate between using private transport and public facilities. In conclusion, even though this method might bring about the desired result, it would give rise to several other issues. Therefore, I strongly believe that while the proposed solution might seem obvious, it is not possible to implement this on a global scale without putting the middle and lower classes under serious strain.