Task 2: Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of the old house in the local areas, while other think that people should have freedom to build house of their own styles.

Some argue that new home in the locality should be built to match the traditional building style of that area, whereas others think that people have the right autonomy in choosing their own style. I agree with the view that occupants of a house have the freedom to decide how it should look. On the one hand, there are strong arguments that the new housing should follow a traditional style in the residency. Practically, several architectural measures are conformed to certain geographic conditions of the nation. Indeed, in Japan, where natural disasters namely earthquake or tsunami usually affect citizens, the national government have to take control of structural qualities to reduce losses of human and property if accidents occur. In term of cultural values, conventional counterparts remain the beauty of cultural identity, which becomes a tourist destination in the country and generally over the world, which reduces an unemployment rate in the local area. Take Hue province as an example, one of the most ancient cities in Viet Nam, the authorities encourage local people to preserve an antique house or construct new house in ancient style, which made Hue as one of the most renowned tourist destinations. On the other hand, there are many benefits to building a home as the needs and wants of its owner. Firstly, by being freedom to show the owner characteristics, which make their homes a distinctive comparison to surrounding others. People build their house for different purposes, which might serve their demand or express their vision and taste as well as their richness. Particularly, the elder tends to prefer bungalow to a three-storey house, or the young family usually consider a small and affordable house with a public playground for their children; meanwhile, the upper class might choose penthouse or villa. From the respective of construction cost, materials of modern homes are more reasonable than its convention due to the fact it is easily obtained and produced, like iron or steel while building conventional counterparts made from wood which is hard to find and affect to natural resources. While it is easy to follow the historical style of building homes, it is more important to allow people to have the freedom to decide to build their house as their favours.