Some people think that the newly built houses should follow the styles of the old houses in the local areas, while others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own styles.

It has become a noticeable controversy when people arguing towards the selection of new houses’ architectural styles in the locality where traditional houses are existing. At the outset, it is widely believed by many that all new residential houses must obey exactly the way old houses were constructed to maintain cultural heritage. However, I am of the opinion that new house’s owners should be encouraged to freely design their own houses because of enhancement of houses’ performances during operation. On the one hand, the idea of forcing new houses’ builders to obey long-establish houses’ appearances is believed by many because the cultural values of local areas that have been represented in house construction. Firstly, if the new houses, that are designed with bright-color facades, appear in the middle of conventional structures, the whole beauty of house arrangement will be destroyed. Consequently, it is hard to find out the original cultural value in the areas. As an illustration, because the “Hoi An” town, a well-known and cultural tourism place in Vietnam, has been fulfilled with modern houses, its reputation for cultural unique has been vanished. However, I am in favour of the idea that landlords ought to be free to build their houses because of significant benefits from material development that enhances house’s efficiency. It is obvious that advanced materials being applied nowadays in modern houses are more durable and sustainable compared those in the old houses. As a result, it may not only diminish the maintenance cost and energy consumption, but it may also lengthen the service life of houses. For example, more durable and environment friendly roof tiles should be used to replace the heavy concrete tiles to reduce 50% of energy consumed in the summer and increase lifetime by 50 years. In conclusion, maintaining the old-established house styles is the conservative idea of some in order to preserve heritage. Nevertheless, my stance is that it is better to promote new house styles as a consequence of material production progress.