Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of the old houses in the local areas, while others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own styles.

It is argued that the architectural style of new buildings should be the same as that of old buildings in local areas, while others believe that people should be free to design their own house the way they prefer. I personally agree with the second group. On the one hand, the primary reason why some people think that modern constructions should follow the style of the old ones in local areas is that this helps preserve traditional and cultural values, which could boost tourism in these areas. Take Hoi An, which is one of the most famous ancient cities in Vietnam, as an example. Local people in this city are encouraged to preserve their old houses or construct new houses in traditional architectural styles. As a result, Hoi An has become a popular tourist destination that attracts millions of tourists on an annual basis. On the other hand, I would argue that people should have the right to make their own decisions when it comes to building their own house. The first reason is that many people do not like the style of old buildings in their neighbourhood. Their rights would be violated if they were forced to live in a house that they do not feel comfortable about the design. Another reason that needs to be mentioned is cost. It would be much cheaper to build a modern simple house rather than one which has to mirror past architectural standards. In conclusion, although some people say that the design and construction of modern and traditional buildings should be the same, I personally believe that the owners should be allowed to decide the way their own house will be built.