People can eat a wide variety of food that can be grown in other areas. As a result, people eat more food produced in other regions than local food. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

No wonder that technological advances in transportation have made it easier for food commodities to travel around the globe. However, such blooming trend in trading nourishments are probably responsible for the drop in local food consumption because people tend to have more preference for the exotic one. This essay will illustrate both stands of the phenomenon before the ultimate conclusion is reached. To begin with, it is obvious that amenities to transport help food miles shorten than ever before, which benefits local consumers greatly from various food and victual choices. To illustrate, people living in cold climate countries where land do not favor growing all sorts of fruits and vegetables throughout the year can try tropical fruits and delicatessen from other regions. Moreover, as multi-national giants coming raises higher competitiveness with local food producers, to be served on the dining table, local products must be leveled up tasty, ingredients, packaging and many other qualities and lowered their prices. Accordingly, such globalized food trend has resulted in people having the ability to enjoy foods to that they did not previously have access at really reasonable prices. However, there are some downsides to the trend that should be taken into consideration. As mentioned above, international food companies with their advanced manufacturing technologies and clever advertising strategies make them far more efficient than local ones. As a result, the lack of competitiveness is synonymous with potential closure to local producers, vanishing local traditional products, and impairing cultural cuisine in the long run. In addition, imported food is not likely to be fresh and safe to our health given that preservatives and other harmful substances are commonly used in food processing to transport in a long distance between areas or countries. In conclusion, it is apparent that the food produced in other regions is gaining popularity albeit several minuses concerning its fresh and local cuisine impact. However, I strongly believe that this is a positive trend due to the diversified diet and domestic food quality enhancement.