TASK 2 (Academic and General Training) : Many people have difficulty maintaining a healthy diet. What are the causes of this problem? How could it be solved?

Generally, eating healthy is of paramount importance in the elimination of diseases and a happy lifestyle. Quite a number of people have challenges maintaining a healthy diet due to the competing demands on their limited financial resources and lack of knowledge on the consequences of unhealthy eating. A larger proportion of individuals do not commit to balanced diets due to budget constraints. Their other pressing essentials like school fees, accommodation and utilities have incapacitated them to buy every ingredients to a balanced meal. As a result, deficiency diseases like Kwashiokor and goita are the order of the day. Another cause why many people have difficulties in maintaining a healthy diet is lack of knowledge on what constitutes balanced diets and the adverse effects of not keeping to such. For example a survey which was carried out in our home land have proven that more than 55% of the population are unaware that they are eating unbalanced meals and how this have negatively affected their long living potential. Most importantly, to curb or assist the people having problems in keeping and maintaining a healthy diet, it is the responsibility of all stakeholders to come hand in hand. Firstly, government should improvise subsidies and grants to deserving families. As an example schemes such as 'Food for work' programs, where financially incapacitated persons will offer their time and labour in return for good humbers. This has been phenomenal in some countries where such a practice is prevalent. Another proposal would be to have awareness campaigns on how to eat healthy and effects of unhealthy eating explored. By so doing everyone may become conscious and start eating balanced diets. In conclusion, it is crucially beneficial to the whole society if everyone commits to maintaining a healthy diet. As such, government subsidies should be provided to deserving families and 'healthy eating' awareness campaigns initiated to ensure that everyone is made known of the importance of keeping to healthy diets.