Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

In today's world, majority of the supermarkets are stocked with foods that are imported from all around the world. Some people say that the locally produced food is better while others disagree by saying that imported food is more better. I would agree with the fact that the local foods are a better option over imported foods. Firstly, importing food can have a negative effect on local culture. This can be seen in countries such as Japan where imported food has become more popular than traditional, local produce, eroding people's understanding of their own food traditions. Although some would claim that this is a natural part of economic development in an increasingly global world, I feel strongly that any loss of regional culture would be detrimental. Another major reason would be the costs involved in importing. Currently, as we know many food products, such as fruits and vegetables, are transported thousands of miles by road, sea and air, making the product more expensive to buy and increasing pollution from exhaust fumes. Despite the fact that the trade in food exports has existed for many years, I am convinced that a reduction would bring significant financial and environmental gains. However, many jobs depend on food exports and imports, and some less developed countries may even depend on this trade for economic survival. In spite of this, the importance of developing local trade should not be undervalued. In conclusion, I am certain that reducing food imports would have cultural and environmental benefits. What is more, the local economy should, in time, prosper commercially as the demand for local and regional products remains high resisting the competition from overseas.